About Us

In pursuance of 18th constitutional amendment, the subjects on concurrent legislative list were devolved. Rules of business, 1973 were accordingly amended and the functions/entities of the defunct ministry of culture were transferred to provincial governments. However, some of the organizations/functions were retained at federal level and transferred to cabinet division, inter-provincial coordination division, economic affairs division, planning and development division and ministry of foreign affairs. These functions were later assigned to the newly created ministry of national heritage & integration which was amalgamated with ministry of information broadcasting on 7th june 2013. Ministry of information broadcasting and national heritage was bifurcated into two separate division i.e national history and literary heritage division and information & broadcasting on 5th january 2016. The newly created national history & literary heritage division was assigned the following functions.

  1. International agreements and assistance in the field of archaeology, national museums and historical monuments declared to be of national importance.
  2. Quaid-e-Azam Papers Wing.
  3. Pakistan Academy of Letters.
  4. National Language Authority, Urdu Dictionary Board and Urdu Science Board.
  5. National and other languages used for official purposes.
  6. Quaid-e-Azam Academy.
  7. Aiwan-i-Iqbal and Iqbal Academy Pakistan.
  8. Quaid-e-Azam Mazar Management Board (QMMB).
  9. Quaid-e-Azam Memorial Fund.
  10. Naming of institutions in the name of Quaid-e-Azam and other high and distinguished personages.
  11. National Library of Pakistan.